Posted by: ginalazenby | January 29, 2009

Australian informality

Sign outside a school in Australia - obviously directed at parents!

Sign outside a school in Australia - obviously directed at parents!

I have arrived down under!  After my freezing week in China (colder than usual) I have landed in Sydney and feel blessed that we are not experiencing the melting heat of Melbourne (44 degrees day, only a bit less at night!).  I do love Australia and it feels good to be back and settling in to their summer while it is winter back home.  Of the many different things here I notice their informality. I am hardly a stiff upper lip Brit but I did laugh when I spotted this road sign outside a school. All you have to do is follow the instructions.  For me that’s SO Australian. They say directly what they mean and they seem to shorten everything. Even on Televison news they say “Brekkie” for Breakfast. No way in the UK!

Responses

  1. haha love it,
    at the airport in Nice France they have a big drop zone and in english it says
    “kiss and fly”
    which becci and i would use for pick up and drop off as i come and go, now its a part of our langauge that we use between each other when were in a hurry


Leave a Reply

Categories

