Posted by: ginalazenby | April 15, 2009

Wisdom from the Dalai Lama

Somebody sent this to me in January and I love it. It inspired me again today so I am sharing.

The Paradox of Our Age –    By The Dalai Lama

We have bigger houses but smaller families;
More conveniences, but less time;
We have more degrees, but less sense;
More knowledge, but less judgment;
More experts, but more problems;
More medicines, but less healthiness;
We’ve been all the way to the moon and back,
But have trouble crossing the street to meet the new neighbor.
We build more computers to hold more information to
Produce more copies than ever but have less communication.
We have become long on quantity,
But short on quality.
These are times of fast foods but slow digestion;
Tall man but short character;
Steep profits but shallow relationships.

It’s a time when there is much in the window,
But nothing in the room.

THANK YOU for taking the time to read

sit with this and feel the words and what they mean to you.  Of the many resolutions I made from this I will visit my neighbour – she is two fields away from me and we have not connected for months.

Are you inspired to make any changes in your life from reading this? let me know.

Responses

  1. Hello Gina
    Your neighbour from across the fields would love to connect! Let me know if you’re at home with time to spare.


Leave a Reply

Categories

