Posted by: ginalazenby | March 7, 2014

Celebrating International Women’s Day 2014 in Sydney

IMG_2861

It was another one of those Forrest Gump moments where I just happened to bump into an interesting and for me, significant event, featuring several of my women heroines.  After leaving a meeting talking about the women’s leadership events I was hosting this week, I stumbled upon Australian Bank Westpac’s launch of “Inspire Change” the theme of International Women’s Day this year. In the line-up in front of a crowd of media and TV, VIP guests, and Westpac women employees in promo clothing, were Gail Kelly, Westpac’s  CEO & the first female bank chief in Australia; Anna Bligh who had been the first female Premier of Queensland; and ground-breaking former World Number One tennis player Evonne Goolagong. I set my intention to get photos with each of the women and hurrah …. in the media scrum that followed the formal photo I managed to say a personal hello to each fabulous woman.

IMG_2880Not only that, but a small incident where I mistook a VIP woman for a member of the crowd and asked her to use my iPhone for a photo of me with Evonne … she had no idea how to use it so a Press photographer stepped forward ….  meanwhile Evonne and I were in a fit of giggles. That moment was captured by TV and used as part of the report on the news that evening.  You can’t make it up!  I did not see the report but I was telephoned by a friend who said “You’re on Australian telly!”

Minor moment of fame aside …. as much as women are making small amounts of progress in raising the opportunities, visibility and status of women, there is so much more to do. So the question from this year’s IWD campaign is … what are you inspired to do to make positive change around gender equality?  For me, my pledge was about (God help me) finishing my book on the rise of women and feminine values!!!!

Celebrating International Women’s Day on March 8th

Screen Shot 2014-03-08 at 8.08.23 AM

Great to see so many events in the UK !

Wish I was there … but I am here in Sydney and will be celebrating with a group of women attending the screening of  Wonder Women! The Untold Story of American Superheroines which traces the fascinating evolution and legacy of Wonder Woman …. from the birth of the comic book superheroine in the 1940s to the blockbusters of today. It goes behind the scenes with Lynda Carter, Lindsay Wagner, comic writers and artists, and real-life superheroines such as Gloria Steinem who offer an enlightening and entertaining counterpoint to the male-dominated superhero genre. I will report further after the screening.

Leave a Reply

Categories

