Posted by: ginalazenby | March 30, 2014

You can stop worrying Mum, I’m fine: a note of gratitude on Mother’s Day

P1080368

My Mommy is Beautiful: The wall of love notes to Mothers at Yoko Ono’s exhibition in Sydney

When I arrived in Sydney in November I read about a wall of messages to Mothers at Yoko Ono’s exhibition (War is Over). The exhibit was called “My Mommy is Beautiful”.  I was not a particular fan of Yoko but it seemed like a good idea to visit the wall and leave a message for Mum as that felt like a very powerful ritual. In my book, any opportunity to show gratitude to your mother should be grasped. I didn’t get there until my last afternoon in Sydney and had not expected to love all of Yoko’s exhibits which she encouraged everybody to touch and interact with – the exact opposite of what you’d expect in a museum!

P1080366My ten minutes popping in simply to write on the wall turned into a 2-hour trawl around her fascinating treasure trove but as I said the main objective was for me to write a message to my Mum.

I thought it was a brilliant idea and one I have decided to share on the UK’s Mothering Sunday. The exhibit represented a huge wall of love and gratitude and gave everyone the opportunity to reflect on the important role that mother’s play in our lives.

What would you write to your mother if you had the opportunity to add your message? I am immensely grateful for the love and support my mother continues to give me, wherever I am in the world, and whatever I choose to do. I reflected on how she has invested so much love, nurturing, caring and even hard work  in me, my ventures, my homes and my escapades. How disappointed she would be if she had done all that and still I wasn’t happy? So I am affirming that I am happy …. all that input from her, those endless hours of worrying and care-giving … they all came to something …. I love my life and I’m grateful for everything both my parents provided for me, and all the experiences I have had. So you can stop worrying Mum … I’m fine, thank you!

I went through my photo albums to find something to post up on Facebook and I found loads of snaps of us laughing and having fun. You can see what a huge smile she has in the montage of photos below. I’m looking forward to celebrating Mother’s Day with her next weekend when she returns from an overseas break. I’ve made up a calendar with family snaps taken over the last year for her to savour all the magic moments we all shared, every month for the whole year ahead.

Screen Shot 2014-03-30 at 11.19.15 AM

Screen Shot 2014-03-30 at 11.41.13 AM

Happy Mother’s Day to all mothers, past and present, and a wave of love to the biggest mother of all, Planet Earth.

Leave a Reply

Categories

